Three ideas to energize your moves management

moves management

Moves management.  We all know what it is.  It’s probably one of the first things we learn as development professionals.  Moves management is the core of everything we do.  It’s a strategic and well-planned path to stronger relationships and greater giving.  It’s a means to carefully plan every move to increase awareness and commitment to your organization and its cause.

In my organization we’re coming up on a quarterly deadline to get all of our actions recorded in our database.  Somewhere in the scramble to record all my moves and plan next steps I started wondering how I could improve the process.  Is there a better way that is more proactive instead of reactive?

As an organized, detail-oriented person, the concept of moves management is something I am wholeheartedly on board with.  But, let’s face it, it can be a daunting process, especially if you have a large list of new prospects, most of whom are in the very beginning, qualifying stages.

So I did a little research to see how others have tackled this issue. Here’s three really great, simple ideas I found that can put new energy into your moves management process:

1) Identify your top 10 prospects, your next 20 and your next 30.  This is a great starting point that can be used to set priorities and really focus your efforts.  For your top 10, make a plan to connect with them in some way once a month.  The next 20, every 2 months, and the next 30, every 3 months.  Take the time each month to reevaluate and reorder your list.  This great idea and many others came from Gail Perry’s “Skyrocket Your Fundraising with a Systematic Major Gifts Program” webinar which I highly recommend.

2) Conduct a “mind-sweep” to create your individual donor plans. Focus on an individual donor and all the things you think need to happen to move them from one gift level to the next, and write them down.  This list is now your “moves” that need to happen.  Finally, add dates to the list and put it all into a spreadsheet, and you now have an organized, actionable individual donor plan!

3) Diligently record your moves. Record each move immediately after you have done it, or take 30 minutes out of your day – everyday – to complete this task.  This idea isn’t new or ingenious – we all know we should do it.  But not having a week’s (or month’s) worth of actions to enter all at one time can make the whole process more manageable.

I’m just beginning to implement these three ideas into my moves management process.  I’ll keep you posted on my progress!  In the meantime, I would love to hear what’s worked for you.  Please leave a comment below.

Photo credit:   #fundchat

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About dknotek2015

I am a Development Director for the College of Science at the University of Nevada, Reno. Having worked in the Development and Alumni Relations Department for the past eight years, I have a unique background in development, philanthropy, and relationship building. I am a University of Nevada, Reno alum as well as a current MBA candidate. You could say I am silver and blue through and through! I am passionate about helping others. I understand how important education is to our local community, the nation, and the world. I remember struggling as a student to finish my own education, and how grateful I was when I received support through the generosity of others. As a professional, I excel at securing private donations which support the students, faculty, programs, and research of the College of Science. I am uniquely qualified to bring potential donors together with areas about which they are passionate and feel compelled to support.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three ideas to energize your moves management

  1. Pingback: Two ways to determine why the answer is “NO” | Developing Dedicated Donors

  2. Pingback: Do you have a healthy prospect list? | Developing Dedicated Donors

Leave a Reply

