3 ways to go the extra mile for your donors

going-the-extra-mileLately it just seems like I don’t have enough time in my day.  We’re coming up on the end of the academic year so development projects are in full swing in the College of Science!  Sometimes it seems like my head is spinning just trying to keep all the balls in the air.

It’s times like this that the important aspects of development can easily fall by the wayside.  And by important, I mean the DONOR!

The donor doesn’t have any idea that my days are filled with meetings, planning sessions, paperwork, reports, and a seemingly endless string of events.  But, I guarantee they will pay attention if all that “stuff” gets in the way of making them feel valued and appreciated!

Here’s a few ideas that we do – diligently – no matter what else is going on:

  • We send out really nice, high quality birthday cards each month to our major donors and special friends. Each card is specially selected for the recipient – no standard, boring cards for us!  Plus, each card is personally signed by the development team and the Dean.  And, by signed, I mean a personal note along with a signature.  In addition, we send out get well, sympathy, and congratulations cards as events arise.
  • Each year we do a holiday card that gets sent out to every one of our donors. But, instead of a Christmas card we do a Thanksgiving card which we custom order each year.  Then to really personalize it and show our appreciation – and THANKS – we have all member of the Dean’s support staff sign each and every card.
  • At our many scholarship luncheons we make a point to seat the donor with at least one of the recipients of the scholarship that they established. The ability to sit and have a conversation and learn about each other’s interests and goals, is possibly one of the most heartfelt experiences for BOTH the donor and the student.

I’ve found that you can never thank your donors enough for all that they do to support your cause.  There are many other ideas to go the extra mile for your donors, but sometimes when it’s a particularly busy time of the year, it helps to focus on just a few of the basics, and make sure they get done – no matter what.

Let me know what you do to go the extra mile for your donors – I’ll use the best suggestions in an upcoming post!

Photo Credit:  Going the extra mile

About dknotek2015

I am a Development Director for the College of Science at the University of Nevada, Reno. Having worked in the Development and Alumni Relations Department for the past eight years, I have a unique background in development, philanthropy, and relationship building. I am a University of Nevada, Reno alum as well as a current MBA candidate. You could say I am silver and blue through and through! I am passionate about helping others. I understand how important education is to our local community, the nation, and the world. I remember struggling as a student to finish my own education, and how grateful I was when I received support through the generosity of others. As a professional, I excel at securing private donations which support the students, faculty, programs, and research of the College of Science. I am uniquely qualified to bring potential donors together with areas about which they are passionate and feel compelled to support.
This entry was posted in Relationship building and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

