Development in the Social Age

information_sharingYes, that’s right…….we’re now in the Social Age.  Most of you that read this blog and others like it already know this fact.  You’ve accepted social.  You’re commenting on posts and articles.  You rely on blogs and Twitter chats when you need advice or new ideas.  You’ve already discovered the powerful changes that social collaboration has set in motion.

And the field of development and fundraising is right in the middle of it all.

I’m well aware of that fact each and every time I sit down to write a post.  Blogging has opened my eyes to the social age, for sure!  I’ve connected with so many experts in the field through Twitter, discovering their articles on Feedly, and adding to the conversation through comments and replies.

In fact I was fortunate enough to have one of my blog posts featured in a recent Academic Impressions newsletter.  I wrote about how I turned great ideas I learned at one of their conferences into action in my organization.  I signaled Academic Impressions in a tweet about my post, they picked it up, and it went international!

All of a sudden I was an ordinary person contributing to an extraordinary network.

Ted Coine and Mark Babbitt do a great job of explaining the Social Age and what it means for all of us in their book, A World Gone Social – it’s a great read and one that I highly recommend.  World gone socialThey stress that social IS sharing knowledge.  This can be a scary concept for those still stuck in the Industrial Age where knowledge was meant to be kept close to the vest – it was your competitive advantage – and sharing it meant losing that advantage. 

A World Gone Social presents the concept of OPEN (Ordinary People/Extraordinary Network).  Ordinary people – each with knowledge to share – that together create extraordinary networks.  Subject matter expertise in the Social Age means that experts are available to ALL of us, and they make our networks that much more extraordinary.

You see SHARING knowledge is what this exciting new age is all about.  And those that embrace that concept will be the ones that excel and succeed.

It’s important for each of us to remember to share what we’ve learned over the years.  Help others as they start out in development.  Take the time to lend an ear and give advice when you see your colleagues struggling.  Share great articles that you discover in your social network.  It will make all of us better in the long run!

Please join me in the conversation, by leaving a comment below.

Photo credits:  Sharing, A World Gone Social

About dknotek2015

I am a Development Director for the College of Science at the University of Nevada, Reno. Having worked in the Development and Alumni Relations Department for the past eight years, I have a unique background in development, philanthropy, and relationship building. I am a University of Nevada, Reno alum as well as a current MBA candidate. You could say I am silver and blue through and through! I am passionate about helping others. I understand how important education is to our local community, the nation, and the world. I remember struggling as a student to finish my own education, and how grateful I was when I received support through the generosity of others. As a professional, I excel at securing private donations which support the students, faculty, programs, and research of the College of Science. I am uniquely qualified to bring potential donors together with areas about which they are passionate and feel compelled to support.
This entry was posted in social age and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Development in the Social Age

  1. Pingback: This week’s post that made me stop and think | Developing Dedicated Donors

Leave a Reply

